Skip to content

The course didn’t happen, but Tarek wrote a book.

August 9, 2008

Maybe you remember me asking for reasons why nobody was interested in our course about techniques and technologies for professional development? Well, nobody could come up with much ideas on what was wrong and virtually no interest materialized, so we (me and WebWorks) gave up, the course never was held. This is too bad, because loads of people do need a course like this.

However, now Tarek Ziade has written a book on the same subject. That’s a good idea and probably more likely to reach the people that need this information. The table of contents looks good. Check it out.

From → plone, python, zope

4 Comments
  1. The book looks great, but I still think there needs to be a plone-specific take on the subject.

    If you’re interested in collaborating on the course (especially if you’d like to hold a class in North America), e-mail me or look me up on IRC.

    This is the sort of stuff I really like talking about🙂

    I think the subject is essential for productivity with plone, the course was a great idea. I’m sure there’s some way it could be made to work.

    You know, it would make a great tutorial session at a future plone conference/symposium!

  2. “The book looks great, but I still think there needs to be a plone-specific take on the subject.”

    … you mean like Professional Plone Development?🙂

    I haven’t read Tarek’s book, obviously, but I suspect the two would make good companions.

    Martin

  3. @Lennart, the course looks really good, and you are right, it look a lot like part of my book. Extra topics I have in my book are mostly syntax good practices. (around 100 pages)

    @jjmojojjmojo: I think the topic covered can be applied to enhance Plone development productivity as well.

    @Martin: I think so too.

  4. Yeah, maybe good syntax practices was what was missing. We also focused on Plone as Jörgen has held a lot of Plone courses, so we assumed that’s where the marked was. Maybe it isn’t maybe it’ Python…

    I think the missing Plone parts are how to use paster to create and maintain content types, for example, and where to put code in different cases, and how to set up Plone test cases.

Leave a Reply

