Skip to content

New Year’s Python Meme 2012

January 20, 2013

OK, OK, I’m weeks late. I’ve had a lot to do. I also had the flu. Anyhow:

1. What’s the coolest Python application, framework or library you have discovered in 2012?

I can never remember when i discovered a library, unless it’s very recent. Therefore this years cool award goes to something big and hard to miss: Django. This might not seem very cool, and I haven’t really “discovered” it in 2012. But 2012 is the first year I’m using it for serious things.

I can see why people are a bit fanatic. It’s easy to get started with and things are very “comfortable” and nice. The Django Pony is really the correct mascot. Yes, you can have a pony, but it will be pink and fluffy.

2. What new programming technique did you learn in 2012 ?

I always have problems with this question. For me it’s just programming, not techniques. I’ve gotten a deeper understanding of functional programming though, which is cool. Someday I will write an event driven GUI program in some functional language, just to understand how interactivity works in functional languages, because that still boggles my mind.

Another thing I did discover is the Sticky-Note planning technique, a.k.a Kanban without pretending it’s exotic. My wall is now full of colored stickers. I’m not sure it helps, but it looks good.

3. Which open source project did you contribute to the most in 2012 ? What did you do ?

This year has been all about time zones and presentations and presentations about time zones. I’ve written PEP-431, to get time zone support into the Python standard library. The latest draft is here, and will come up at the official PEP repository shortly. I also wrote tzlocal, a module to get the local timezone of the computer.

I wrote impress-console, a speaker console for impress.js. I also wrote landslide-impress, a theme for Landslide that outputs impress.js presentations. This project is not done yet, I’m looking at ways to layout impress.js presentations automatically. I hope to use these in combination for my presentation on calendaring at PyCon US.

4. Which Python blog or website did you read the most in 2012?

Everyone answers “Planet Python” here, so I’m going to be contrary and answer… eh well…OK, it’s Planet Python.

5. What are the three top things you want to learn in 2013?

  1. Handling massive amounts of data.
  2. Kivy.
  3. A nice Javascript web app framework. Top contenders: Obviel, because Martijn Faassen tends to have really good ideas and Ember, because I’ve hear good things about it.

6. What is the top software, application or library you wish someone would write in 2013?

  • A good, complete SVG library in Python, that both parses SVG, and can do the geometry, primarily lengths of paths.
  • A good, complete iCalendar library for Javascript
  • A really good datetime library for Javascript.
  • A networked database for GRAMPS, or some really good open source web-based genealogy software. TNG is kinda crap.

 

From → python

3 Comments
  1. Hi, you may already know but the links on planet python to your blog are broken. The link on your name heading to the blog homepage seems to work but the link on the blog post title is broken.

    • I know, I mailed the Planet Python list about it yesterday, or Friday or whatever. I’m sure it’ll be fixed soon. It seems WordPress has modified their feeds again.

  2. I’ve been working a lot recently with AngularJs. You might want to take a look at it (http://angularjs.org/). It feels weird at the beginning, but is very powerful.

    Also, this year I found underscore.js and suddenly, JavaScript stopped sucking for data manipulation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,338 other followers

