Skip to content

zope.interface 3.6.0 released with Python 3 support.

April 29, 2010

About two years ago, I took my first look at Python 3. I liked what I saw, and as I also adore the Zope Component Architecture, I wanted it on Python 3. so I started porting it. But to develop Zope packages you typically need zc.buildout. So I needed to port it. But it in turned required Setuptools. So I started porting that, and realized that Setuptools was a complex piece of software, and stopped. But in August 2008 I tried again, and got further. That effort finally came to fruition as Martin von Löwis reviewed my port and merged it with various improvements into Distribute, released in September 2009.

I have from time to time returned to my quest to get zope.component ported to Python 3, and after about two years, a second milestone has finally happened: I released zope.interface 3.6.0, the first version that supports Python 3. Hopefully we’ll see zope.event and zope.exceptions in Python 3 versions too. I’ve merged Python 3 support into trunk for these already, but I want to let zope.interface simmer for a while, to make sure I didn’t make any mistakes in the release.

Next is zope.testing. And that requires a post of it’s own. :)

Edit: I should mention that I wasn’t the only one involved in this port. In particular Martin v Löwis (again) supplied that port of the C-code. Thank him too.

4 Comments
  1. Christian Theune permalink

    You’re my hero – honestly.

    Thanks for all that hard work!

  2. Tomaž Muraus permalink

    Thank you for all the work from me as well.

    Now something slightly off-topic – is it only me or you have changed your blog template? :)

  3. Thanks guys.

    Tomaz: I have indeed.

  4. Baiju M permalink

    Thanks for the great work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,285 other followers

